Splash!

WaterJust when I thought Zee couldn’t get any cuter*, he dons a pair of swimmers and takes to the water and looks more adorable than I thought possible.

Yesterday was his first swimming lesson at our local health club and it was just lovely. We went with friends and their baby girl and I’m so glad it was something our babies shared together.

The instructor borrowed Zee for several of her demonstrations and I loved being able to watch him as she glided him through the water or showed us how to splash the babies into the pool. His expression was one of bewilderment, until the point he was plunged underwater for the very first time and emerged looking pretty furious. And then sneezed in my face.

Bless you my child.

We are signed up to a ten week course and not only is it great for my confidence in learning how to handle him in the pool, it opens up a whole new world of exciting opportunities for him. Being able to swim is so freeing, so fun. In the future we’d like him to follow in his dad and grandparents’ footsteps and learn to sail. As a child, I was lucky enough to live in Nassau for a while and swimming was such an important part of my life and I want that for my children too – the swimming part, though if someone wants to send us off to the Bahamas at any time we’d never say never.

Yesterday was one of the best days we’ve had together so far and I can’t wait for the next class. In the meantime, there’s bath time for more splashing around.

* I am aware of how self indulgent this post is, but it’s my blog and I’ll gush about my son if I want to, la la la …

Leave a Reply

