Quote, unquote

I like reading people’s favourite quotes. The ones they post as their Facebook status, or in getting-to-know-you questionnaires or online profiles. I’m interested in what has so captured their attention and imagination in a film or book, magazine or TV show that they remember and repeat it for themselves.

In no particular order, my favourite quotes are:

‘Y-O-U apostrophe R-E means you are. Y-O-U-R means your!’ – Ross Geller, Friends.
I am often tempted to write this as a comment on people’s incorrect Facebook posts, but realise this will make me seem pedantic, picky and a know-it-all. No one likes a smart arse. But seriously, it’s not rocket science, is it?

‘I think probably kindness is my number one attribute in a human being. I’ll put it before any of the things like courage or bravery or generosity or anything else . . . Kindness – that simple word. To be kind – it covers everything, to my mind. If you’re kind that’s it’ – Roald Dahl

‘You stay where you is in my pocket huggybee’ he said. ‘We is doing this lovely bit of buckswashling both together’ – the Big Friendly Giant to Sophie, The BFG

‘Don’t take yourself so seriously. No one else does’ – Anonymous

One thought on “Quote, unquote

  1. Mine is also the BFG – ‘Sometimes, on a very clear night,’ the BFG said, ‘and if I is swiggling my ears in the right direction,’ – and here he swivelled his great ears upwards so they were facing the ceiling – ‘if I is swiggling them like this and the night is very clear, I is sometimes hearing faraway music coming from the stars in the sky.’

Leave a Reply

